House Teams

The House Team tradition is a common feature of independent schools in the English-speaking world. Initially a characteristic of English boarding schools, where students literally lived in their respective ‘Houses’, the modern practice of House membership is a means of fostering loyalty, school pride, peer relationships, and senior student leadership.

Students at Coast Mountain Academy are all members of one of our four House Teams. The Houses draw their names from prominent features of our local geography, and stand for the connection we have with our surroundings. The four House Teams are: Elaho, Sky Pilot, Tantalus, and Skookum.

House teams compete in a year-long points competition to win the House Cup and its honours. Beginning in the 2016 – 2017 school year, an actual trophy with past winners engraved on it will be the physical embodiment of this school tradition.

Students earn points for their House through athletic, academic, and social excellence, while they can also lose point for their House through infractions of school policy (uniform, technology, tardiness, etc.). All school staff are empowered to award and deduct House Cup points throughout the year.

Good luck to all Houses this year!

Past Winners

School Year Winning House
2015 – 2016 Sky Pilot
2016 – 2017 Tantalus
2017 – 2018 Skookum Creek